Twenty-five scholars from Philippine Science High School-Caraga Region Campus successfully participated in the Online Preliminary Rounds of the 10th Hippo English Language Olympiad facilitated by the International Champions in Education (ICE) last February 26, 2022.

An international event which aims to promote the English language by challenging students in three different areas namely: Reading, Use of Language, and Listening, the competition was divided into several categories where 16 of the Pisay Caraga scholars took the test under the HIPPO 3 category, seven of them took the test for HIPPO 4, and five of them took the test for HIPPO 5.

Usman Plazo (Grade 7 scholar), Keja Mar Keuhlmann (Grade 8 scholar), Gabrielle Roy Vasquez (Grade 10 scholar), and Gaudenis Joshua Plaza (Grade 11 scholar) bagged the Gold Award in their respective categories.

Red Abarca (Grade 7 scholar), Tiffany Mordeno (Grade 7 scholar), and Ambrose James Torreon (Grade 10 scholar) obtained the Silver award. Meanwhile, Marthea Lourdes Pebojot (Grade 7 scholar), Adelle Angela Navales (Grade 7 scholar), Danielle Megan Epundulan (Grade 7 scholar), JC Nicole Tantay (Grade 7 scholar), Therese Gabrielle Delegencia (Grade 7 scholar), Mariane Angela Curilan (Grade 10 scholar), Franchezka Collantes (Grade 9 scholar), Julia Cay Manatad (Grade 10 scholar), Franceska Gamutan (Grade 9 scholar), and Bianca Manatad (Grade 11 scholar) brought home the Bronze Award.

Merit award was achieved by Mariane Sabas (Grade 8 scholar), Jermielle Aaleahya Egay (Grade 7 scholar), Keziah Bugas (Grade 7 scholar), Sasha Isabelle Mordeno (Grade 7 scholar), Athena Ashil Hyacinth Madelo (Grade 7 scholar), Jaira Jane Branca (Grade 7 scholar), Ishe Braelyn Petallar (Grade 7 scholar), and Angelyka Patricia Real (Grade 10 scholar).

Ms. Vonna Vejle V. Ahon, Ms. Jennifer A. Balicog, Mr. Jan Grenechaux V. Bohol, Mr. Kenneth Jeason B. Garcia, Mr. Lex Michael L. Guiritan, and Ms. Lily Dale M. Subla from the English Unit acted as the official coaches of the aforementioned scholars.

Gold awardees will advance to the Semi-final round which will be conducted on March 26, 2022 via online.